The EU Cross Border Healthcare Directive has been put into the national law in each of 28 EU state member states. Under the Directive, European patients may choose to be treated in any member state of their choice. This means patients can travel to any EU member state, pay for their treatment and be reimbursed by their home state (HSE) up to the level they would have received at home for the same procedure.